Home General Discussion

Time consuming

Hey, guys! It seems like I haven't a clear solid question, but here it is:
I'm a freelancer (3d artist) and working for outsourcing company for several years. There is always a different kind of projects, and my average rate is about 130$ per day. As it stated. But for some reason, every time I work on project, it always takes more time, then it was given. So my rate falls off, I'm in hurry, stressed, and don't sleep enough.
The main reason for that, as I see it - I always trying to make every new asset better then previous, and I can't do it ordinary normal. I need to be satisfied with the final result. With that, I always trying to learn something new, so everytime I start new project I'm watching tutorials and learning new software or methods. 

So my problem is - my work takes all my time. Also I have a girlfriend, nearly a wife, and she wants my attention too. And with that I really want to do some art for myself and portfolio, cause my employer usually doesn't gives me a permission to post my stuff anywhere, and I'm a little scared about the time when I'll lose my current job, because nobody knows me outside of my company. 

Maybe the solution would be to do my work without discovering new techniques, and learn new  stuff in my personal time. But even with that, I'm perfectionist and I really can't say myself "stop, it's ok enough". So I wake up, sit on my chair and working till next morning. 

As as I said earlier, there is no a strong question, but do any of you have or had same problem? How did/do you deal with it? 

Replies

• EarthQuake
    Just FYI, if you're in the US or western Europe, $130 a day is a really low rate.