Home General Discussion

Guidance on how to improve hard surface modeling

mikewitk
polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
mikewitk polycounter lvl 4
Hello everyone,

This is my first tread here, I'll try to be as complete as possible. For a basic introduction I'm like lots of people in here, I love 3D. I left a promising career in my country to start a new life in other. I've been studying 3D by myself for the past 2 years on my free time. I have made a good progress (imo) but now I feel that I don't know which path to take.
I really enjoy modeling props, specially weapons. Not so much into character sculpting but I want to try modeling armors.
I have watched a bunch of tutorials on a diversity of topics (quick start to Max or ZBrush, creating game assets on ZBrush or on Max, UV Unwrap, character modeling, professional game assets pipeline) but I feel that they don't connect to each other to give me the all idea of worrkflow/pipeline or I'm too dumb to see.
As I said before, I want to model props for games and I'm tired of wasting time with tutorials that are not for me (not right now).
Most of the stuff that I watched are from Digital Tutors, I know they have the Learning Paths, but I also feel that is not a very good path for me (am I wrong?)
Well, first if you read all of this thank you very much, it took a lot of effort to create this tread because I feel that I'm bothering people with silly questions. Second, what I'm looking for is some guidance, someone to tell me that I need to be able to model this and that before moving forward, then I should study this and practice with this. Someone to give feedback. I know that I'm asking too much but I assure you that I'm a fast learner and I'm not going to bother you too much. I'll try to find the answers by myself but I need a guidance on where to look.

I'll leave some stuff that I created here for you to take a look