Home Quixel Megascans

SOLVED: Normal Map/AO Question

Hey Guys!

So, I'm still learning the workflow for ddo and had a question about a couple of the maps and how they look. So the maps I've generated for this particular model are Specular, Normal, Albedo, Gloss and Bump. I have just begun mixing and mashing some materials and I think it's looking good so far, however whenever I take a look at my Normal Map and Occlusion map, they both change significantly.

dzj7t.jpg

As you can see, the Normal map is muddied up and shiny after all the layering of my materials, Is there a way to change it so it actually resembles a generic normal map or is that just how quixel generates it? If so, can I just use my original normal map I brought in and not worry about the new shiny/muddied normal map it's generated for me?

9790jl.jpg

As far as the occlusion map goes, it's very blurry and smeared so pretty much the same question applies, can I just use my original AO map instead of this blurred/smeared one?

24e3u2s.jpg

All in all, I guess it's a matter of appearance of how I'd like my maps too look. I was just wondering if someone could shed some light on this for me. Thanks!

P.S. This is going too sound newbie and stupid but where would I plug my gloss map in to say like Maya or Unreal Engine 4? I'm very new to the PBR workflow. Thanks guys!

Replies

• Synaesthesia
    Offline / Send Message
    Synaesthesia polycounter
    Your images aren't loading. Please try uploading them to Imgur.com and edit your topic. I'll gladly take a look at them when I can see them. :)

In regards to your layers, I've never seen that issue with DDO but I know you can simply fiddle with the opacity of the offending layers on the AO/normal maps to reduce or eliminate that problem altogether. It may simply be an incorrect blend mode that inadvertently got set by the current quirky version of DDO.
  • Ladygrace
    Offline / Send Message
    Ladygrace polycounter lvl 5