Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

League of Legends fan art sword. I'm having trouble transitioning to PBR.

NinjaJoehenes48
polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
NinjaJoehenes48 polycounter lvl 4
Hi,
I'm a student for Game Art and I will be graduating soon. I only recently started texturing for PBR and have been struggling to transition to it from last gen texturing. My last gen textures have never been amazing, but they're better than my PBR textures. So I have been studying up more on PBR the last couple weeks and I am still struggling to make good assets. Today I decided to remodel and texture an old model that I textured with last gen texturing. Here it is.

7SURTSl.png

3Pg3AD8.png

hq1imBc.jpg

Each map is 4096

I'm not too happy with how it's going so far. I'm struggling adding details such as scratches and dirt.

Here is the old model. It was too noisy as are most of the textures I make which I have been trying to get better at.

xdvH3Pq.jpg

Any critiques on the new one would be greatly appreciated.. Also does anybody know of any good tutorials for texturing with PBR that aren't tutorials of DDO or Substance Painter? I want to learn how to do everything manually first before I use programs to do it for me. And I really want to work hard to improve. Thanks.

Replies

• Tectonic
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Tectonic polycounter lvl 10
    Marmoset's PBR tutorial is pretty helpful, dunno if you've seen it. http://www.marmoset.co/toolbag/learn/pbr-practice
  • St4lis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    St4lis polycounter lvl 7
    I'm assuming your textures are: color, roughness, normal, metalness (in that order)

You've chosen to do a piece that is almost entirely metallic. When you do metals, reflection is key; the reflection is mainly shaped by the roughness. You'r roughness here is just a uniform grime noise with some stretched pixel noise on top. What would create a surface like that?