Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

My very first game asset. Let me know your thoughts :)

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
Freemad polycounter lvl 5
Hi everyone!

That's my first post on here.

I've worked on film and TV for a good few years now, but in terms of games I'm a complete beginner. I've seen what can be achieved in realtime and that made me explore the games pipeline.

It's the first time I use Quixel and Unreal Engine as well and I love what results can be achieved in Quixel and how easy. In UE4 I only plugged my textures to a standard material as I do not know to do anything else yet.

Here's is my very first game asset :) Please do let me know what do you think!

Highres_Screenshot00001.png

screen01.png

screen02.png

Maps.jpg

Model.jpg

I am going to produce a little game environment based on this concept I found on DeviantArt from an artist called Samarskiy.

http://samarskiy.deviantart.com/art/Rum-factory-concept-252661044

Will be posting my WIP on here. Any feedback is welcome!

Replies

• james01
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    For first asset its quite good.
    Things I noticed:
    Top of the barrel should be welded to the rest of the barrel. If it isn't it may cause flickering issues in certain engines.
    Beveling on the ends of the low poly model is not really necessary if you do a high poly bake correctly.
    Looks like some smoothing group issues near the bottom, or maybe thats just the max viewport?
    UV's that are bent can be manually straightened, it will maximize uv space and will be easier to texture.
  • Shrike
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Shrike interpolator
    looks pretty good for the start, just dont put the text into the normal that doent make sense
    Try doing a roughness + metalness map next for the model now where you have a diffuse and normal (the diffuse may need some changes tho like way darker metal aside on the rusty places)
  • Freemad
    Options
    Offline / Send Message