Home General Discussion

How to check if legal software was used ?

FreemanH
vertex
Offline / Send Message
FreemanH vertex
Hello everyone,

My company is planning to get their foot into the industry, we will be hiring people to create game for us and and launch some 3D online challenges.

I am an extreme newbie when it comes to Game Art, so I do not really know how technicalities work.

Can someone tell me, how can I check if the work that we got from freelancer was done on a legal software ?

Also, if we create art online art challenge(something similiar to CGTrader or Blizzart Challenge) and people submit their work done on pirated software, should we check it before we give away the prizes ?

Of course, do not get me wrong, I understand that most of the people who take part in these kind of contests are newbies that can't allow themselves to spend money on software.
It just gets weird, when you see someone trying to win a copy of Substance software, while he used Substance in his work.

If anyone could shed some light on it, I'd be glad.

Greetings

Replies

• slipsius
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    slipsius mod
    I could be wrong, but i think the only way to see what was used is the education version, when it pops up saying this file was made in the education version.

I havent done freelance myself, but from what Ive heard, it's very "dont ask dont tell".

That said, most freelancers will have a paid version. Contests will draw more pirates.
  • pigart
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pigart polycounter lvl 6
    slipsius wrote: »
    Contests will draw more pirates.

Those pirates pretty much never win anyways.
  • stickadtroja
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    stickadtroja polycounter lvl 11
    i dont understand why you would want to know it in the first place? how does it affect your contest in the slightest?

make as much sense as checking if the team winning the world cup in fotball are all wearing legally obtained shoes.