Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Portfolio Critique Desired

Hello all! I'm a 2d/3d artist (focusing mostly on assets and environments, but I also do some character and concept work), out of school and been working freelance for the last couple years. However, actual studio jobs have been hard to come by for me to even get callbacks in. Art tests have gone well for me when I get them, so it's not like I can't do the job--its that initial call that can be elusive, and I'm trying to pinpoint why.

I've been kind of dreading/anxious over asking for an honest, brutal critique of my portfolio because there are so many that simply make me feel outclassed, but honestly I could really use the feedback-- and not just on the work itself, but how it's displayed on my website and how easy/attractive it is to access.

My portfolio is www.firebombe.com, and thank you in advance! *Dons the helmet*

A few shots from the site (there are more on the actual site):

Replies

• DonEngland
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    DonEngland polycounter lvl 9
    It looks like we had the same idea at the same time.

I like the Everquest II Assets and Thexian Wagon. Is there a way to show texture flats in the 3d viewer? When I was looking through some of your pages I think I only saw textures on the Low-Poly Lava Monsters.

You have some older models "Bloody Marie" and Cyber Elf. These models don't seem to match the quality of the assets and environments you have and may hurt the overall picture of what you can do.

I think you might want to remove the characters for now and probably show off the environment assets.
    The MarstrosLute and the Thexian Wagon were my favorites.

edit: the twitter link doesn't go to your twitter page.
  • Magihat
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Magihat ngon master
    Since you asked for brutal critique I am going to give my 5 cents as bluntly as possible. Here goes:

- Focus on 3D assets as it clearly is your strong suit.