Home General Discussion

Feeling guilty while living at home but working on becoming a better artist.

Hey guys. I'm feeling a little down this evening regarding living with my parents while working on becoming a better artist and not really earning any source of income doing so.

I am 19 years old and I have recently dropped out of my first year of University in May where I was studying Game design. In my opinion those courses are designed for the complete beginner who knows absolutely nothing about the development process of games/art and I found it rather demoralizing as I wasn't being challenged enough at my skill-set. While attending - it was drilled into our heads that when it comes to getting a job the degree we will receive at the end of the course is more or less useless and that our portfolios are all that matter. It made me question why the hell I was going into debt for this.

I aspire to be a 3d Environment/prop artist and am now living at home. My plan right now is to build up a portfolio of my best work and with some luck be picked up by a studio - or do some freelance jobs.

I know that my art is very close to be being good enough for studios to be interested in it so I have been dedicating myself to work on my skills week in, week out since I dropped out (which I have been doing).

The problem with this is that I feel really guilty sometimes that I just basically stay inside and work on stuff everyday (although I do go out). Although I'm being really productive - I feel like I should be contributing to something and earning some money elsewhere.

I guess what I'm trying to do with this post is try and reach out and relate to other people who are in a similar position. Dropping out of uni can be very daunting but I do believe it is just unnecessary when aspiring to be a 3d artist.