Home General Discussion

Resume,Cover letter and portfolio suggestions

Hi,

I am currently looking for a job as Unity developer in France and now internationally. I could use some advices on how to improve my resume and my cover letter.
To summarize quickly, I used to be a web developer (PHP, JS) and switched to game developer.I started Unity almost 2 years ago. I've created several prototypes and a published game (in early-access)

You can see my resume here, my portfolio here and a cover letter example here

I know that resume and cover letters are different in the US. What should I change or improve?

Thanks a lot for your help

Replies

• Kwramm
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Kwramm interpolator
    I'm not hiring game programmers but tech artists. Here is what I'm looking for:

* If you got any sort of leadership, training or mentoring experience - even if you just bossed around a single guy, add it.

* Pick one or two key pieces and show them off. You need something to quickly grab interest; think of it like an elevator pitch. Then, for 1 or 2 projects, add in-depth info so people get a better idea how you organize your work and how you approach technical issues.

Explain your games. Not just in terms of features, but also your dev process. Did you use scrum or agile methods? What sort of testing strategies did you use? How are you collecting feedback? Explain some of the mechanics and the reasoning behind it. Describe the software architecture a bit or highlight key algorithms and justify them. Where's your inspiration, what are your sources both for gameplay and software design? Keep it concise though. Don't have details all strewn over your blog. Approach it like you would design a 1 page product promo for a technical audience in the games industry.

For good software not just the end-result counts, but also the engineering behind it -> so show it!

* For a US resume remove the photo.