Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Train models for a PC game

OlaHaldor
polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
OlaHaldor polycounter lvl 4
Hello guys. :) Fairly new, but not new to 3D. I've been playing with 3D for over 10 years as a hobby, but never done any mods, all though I've had some ideas but not the discipline to follow through.

The new game "Train Fever" was released last week. I've known about the game for a couple of years, and when the developers said the game will be mod-friendly, I started thinking of what trains I wanted to make.

Here in Norway there's a good looking train, Stadler Flirt, in a new design compared to others running in central Europe.

Took me a good while to find good reference photos. Meanwhile looking for reference photos and reaching out to the train fan community, I purchased a set of tutorials on how to do spline cage modeling/patching, and started learning how I thought would be the best way to model the train.

I went through a ton of iterations and testing for a week, trying to learn the ropes of this kind of modeling. It's completely new to me, as I've mostly been doing 2D logos into 3D, and buildings.

28a4a02043.jpg

6f05c6e753.png

I did a simple planar map of the sides and front. The texture map is 2K, and consists of color, and the alpha channel tells the game what's reflective and how much it's reflecting.

In the middle, the reference photo compared to the texture made up from scratch below. Only the windows are from the reference photo, and they're working fine in-game.
78d5a472ca.jpg

A 100% crop.
aea28ea729.jpg

After I started school (change of profession, leaving the TV and film industry after 10 years..) I'm taking this very train every day, so I've got a bit more reference pohots now. And then I noticed some differences on either side, which I've put into the textures.