Home Technical Talk

Help With Maya and Unreal Engine 4

Hello,

I am pretty new to UE4 and most of this creating games in general. I am confused about UE4 completely and was hoping someone could explain it to me.

So basically what is it and how is it different to a 3D program such as Maya or Blender?

How do I use Maya and UE4 together, for example if I created an environment in Maya and wanted to render it as a single frame, how would I using UE4. Or how could I play around in this environment in UE4?

I have googled around and I do some what understand what UE4 is but I find it all confusing and find it best if I could properly talk to people about it.

Thank you!!

Replies

• Bartalon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Bartalon polycounter lvl 12
    UE4 is a game engine, and it comes with its own unique set of tools compared to standard modeling packages like Maya, Max, Blender, etc.

Basically, a modeling package is where you will create the objects you want in your game, adjust the UVs for your texture painting application, and rig/animate content for playback in the game engine.

The game engine is a huge project repository for all of your models, textures, animations, and other content you want to see in your game. This is often where you would take your assets and move them around to assemble entire levels, set up lighting and other environmental effects, post effects, and all the code required for your game to become interactive.

If you want to render an environment you created in a modeling package in a game engine, you just need to import all your content to the engine, get all the materials, lighting, and effects set up to your liking, and take a screen shot.

There isn't really a "single-frame render" like you would get with Mental Ray. Game engines are designed to be rendered in real time at 60 frames per second.