Home General Discussion

How do you guys push yourself to practice art?

Ace
polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
Ace polycounter lvl 9
Just like the title says. I'm approaching my second year in doing 3D art. I love it, the idea of creating 3D environments and seeing my results and walking around rooms that I've made still makes me happy.
With that said, I'm currently a college student, with a part time (full time during summer) job, and other typical real life responsibilities that a 20 year old has on top of taking care of my grandmother and other needs. I find that on average I'll have about 2-3 hours of free time a day give or take. Some days I have none and just cut into my sleeping hours to free up some extra time.

Once I finally get some time to myself and sit in front of my computer, my thoughts are: I'm tired, I want to do something else (like play video games), and a bunch of other excuses. I constantly have to tell myself "okay, lets make the best of this free time to improve. I want to get better, I have to force myself, even if I don't want to today."

But when I open Max, substance designer, Photoshop, etc. I just blank out. I just stare at my computer screen with 3DS Max just sitting there or with an unfinished project. I don't know what to do. Every time I sit down to try and work on something, my mind just goes blank. I'll play around with whatever software is in front of me to see if something comes to mind but nothing. After about an hour or so I give up.

I feel like I'm stuck. How do you guys push yourselves to get better at art?

Replies

• Rockley Bonner
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Rockley Bonner polycounter lvl 12
    Try doing art first thing before you do all of your other responsibilities. I wake up crazy early, like 2am and then go to bed at 6 or seven.
  • loggie24
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    loggie24 polycounter lvl 3