Home General Discussion

What makes a good Action/Adventure RPG?

Hello, this is my first time posting to the forum!I've been lurking here for quite some time, and decided to finally make an account and ask you all a question.
To give some background as to why I'm asking, a few of my friends and I are working on a game. The graphics are going to be low-poly hand painted textures using UE4. We're using blender to model/paint/rig/animate everything.
For the gameplay, it's mainly going to be an exploration and dungeon crawler. We're not decided on if we want to give it an overall story or just want to keep you, as the player, an adventurer wandering around the world we build. The reason behind that is because in games like Skyrim we find that the main story isn't as good or as fun to partake in as the side quests or exploration. I feel like it may need a main story, though, and I've written a few out, but I wanted to get some outside opinions first.

What are your favorite aspects/mechanics in an RPG?
Crafting, exploration, bosses, etc?

For instance, I personally dislike having to gather materials and craft my own armor. I dislike my adventurer being a jack of all trades. I just want to go out, ransack dungeons, kill monsters, etc.

Any suggestions at all are more than welcome. We're at the ground floor with this and building basic assets that we'll use no matter what and then we're going to build upon that.

Thank you in advance, I truly appreciate it.

Also I figured this was the best place to post this, I hope I'm right :O

Replies

• DireWolf
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Sword of Mana/Seiken was my favourite. Just my thought

- Loveable character design.

- Simple game play mechanics. Offered complexity in the form of puzzle and strategy.

- Some customization/specialization. Give me some choices but not so complex that the game becomes a stat/skill calculation game like Titan Quests.