Home Technical Talk

Speeding up highpoly hard surface workflow

vertex
Offline / Send Message
Skumtron vertex
Main focus is creating game assets - weapons, props etc. My current workflow includes highpoly, retopo and UVing in Maya 2016, then doing all the texturing in Quixel.

I'm still a newbie in the CG area. I love Maya to pieces but I feel like I'm spending too much time making subdiv work and messing with topology I'm going to retopo anyway.

1. Are there other feasible alternatives for creating hard-surface highpoly models faster, other than subdiv?

2. Should I look into sculpting and what software might be the best for creating hard-surfaces?

Replies

• MmAaXx
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MmAaXx polycounter lvl 10
    hardsurfaces take a while to be done in any case.
    I suggest to start with sculpt to see a fast preview of the shape, than go back to to subd for make it clean ( Im not a big fan of polishing too much the sculpt model)

cheers.
  • Bek
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Bek interpolator
    Detailed blockout which becomes both your high and lowpoly. Saves time you'd spend removing edgeloops from the high to make your low and ensures you finalise your proportions early on.

http://www.polycount.com/forum/showthread.php?t=128414
  • Axcel
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Axcel polycounter lvl 14
    Maybe try making a high poly with one simple fact in your mind. Only purpose of existing HP in video games is AO, normal an height map pixel output. Don't try make HP looking good itself. It doens't matter.

Also as Bek said, make HP with LP in your mind when you choosing number of loops, sides etc. It will save your time on making LP.
  • Joost
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Joost polycount sponsor
    Using the rounded edge shader with edge creasing in Modo is becoming quite popular.