Home Technical Talk

Smoothing groups problem (low-poly helicopter)

I'm working on this ka-52...
WzpMfsA.png
oe91UQA.png

...and, since it's a low-poly model, I made a little bit of optimization that resulted in small smoothing groups issues:

1) on the bottom in the places where one vertex connects a lot of edges
nQ6fBWn.png
HzwPQgh.png

2) in and around this notch
dYGIN5o.png
yEF9jcF.png

The question is, how to avoid these problems in case of using smoothing groups for low-poly models? Should I have used different approach (i.e. making a high-poly without geometry issues for baking normal map) or this is ok for low-poly (I know that it's not, but still) or I miss some obvious technique? What is your opinion?

P.S. Also wanna hear critique about this model in general because I am new to 3d modeling and I should know as much as it possible mistakes that I've made.

Replies

• james01
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    When you made the groove by cutting it out manually, the surrounding vertices of the groove were moved to a different angle.
    Thus the reason for the smoothing/shading errors.
    There are a couple of things you can do, all of which are trial by error:

Select the vertices individually and move them manually so they match the same angle.
    As you move them you will notice the shading change.

or

Go back to an earlier version of the model that didn't have the groove, and then make the groove using a boolean operation.
    By using a boolean for the cut it will be more exact.
    Once the cut out area is removed, the surrounding vertices should be at the same angle.

or

Create an additional loop around the the grooves circumference which will minimize the shading -slightly.

or

Create a high poly model and bake a normal map. The shading errors on the low res model may still be there, but when the normal map is applied it should no longer be noticeable. Largely depenadant on the quality of the bake and your cage.
  • MELKIY
    Options