Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Anatomy improvement thread. Critique wanted!

Lilacwine
polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
Lilacwine polycounter lvl 9
Hi, I've been learning 3D modelling as a hobbyist for a couple of years now and have been using Zbrush for about 12 months.

I've just recently started trying to make a push to really improve my anatomy sculpting and knowledge. I'm hoping to use this thread to catalogue my work and gather some feedback about what areas I can improve.

I've uploaded some initial images showing my latest head sculpt. There are some problems I know about already with this such as the hairline being too far back. Any comments people have are more than welcome though.

Additionally, I have included my start on female anatomy. This is a rough outline before I move onto the legs/head. I will hopefully update this significantly in the next few days.

Replies

• Lilacwine
    Offline / Send Message
    I will definitely take your advice to heart about posting the images with just the standard material. I'm currently away from home so I'm just posting some rendered shots that I had lying around, I had a look at other similar posts on here and saw it was mainly standard materials.

The noise on the face wasn't meant to be uniform, but I agree that it does look that way. I think that's valuable feedback! I also did some texturing but I think I was not bold enough if it seems like it's still a solid single colour.

I will probably update this post with some untextured, hairless versions of the head later tonight. If possible I would like some focused feedback on the forms I've got at the moment. I think I've reached the stage where I can no longer easily identify the faults, would be good to have some critical pointers to make sure I progress in the right way.
  • BradMyers82
    Offline / Send Message
    BradMyers82 interpolator
    Dustinbrown is right on the money again. But since you asked for some crits here you go...