Home Technical Talk

Efficient uv mapping

Hi, I want to do very efficient uv-mapping on models, and has been wondering how to maximize uv space on texture.

I've been looking at the wow model uv layout and they strike me as efficient because each uv group, body, limbs, head are essentially rectangular.

But it seems like they have retrofitted the map onto the texture painted beforehand. If you put a uv-test-map, you can see that the squares are distorted (not square, different size).

The reason I want to maximize uv space is because I want to put textures (different kind of armor) on top on skin texture. I kinda like the way blizz did it, would it be illegal to copy-cat them you think?

Replies

• Axcel
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Axcel polycounter lvl 14
    I am not a character artist, but I don't think they make mapping for existing texture. For sure they could make corrects by slightly moving vertexes on UV Map.

Could you share with us those mentioned examples which you have found?
    Why inspiring by others' techniques should be illegal?
  • DavidCruz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    DavidCruz interpolator
    If it is of your own design it is fine to "replicate" uv techniques.
    If your using actual wow content it is not legal, be it concept art or models and your recreating them exactly this is also illegal.

Otherwise it is fine as long as you own the designs and are just inspired by their uv space usage and techniques. I also like the squaring approach, I have yet to understand it all myself so share any information will be appreciated.
  • Danoman
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks for the replies,

I will share some character examples here:
    http://i.imgur.com/MMyBrQa.jpg