Home Technical Talk

gnomon believable eyes but with arnold renderer?

Hi i'm new to all this and for class project i'm trying to use gnomon's believeable eyes tutorial for my characters eyes but they use mental ray and i'm using arnold so can only use arnold shaders.

Thing is they use a really really really really old version of maya and use a U ramp to tell the eye shader how much of the eyeball is see through.

Thier maya also put a rainbow of colours on the eyeball and the ramp slider had that rainbow too. The slider in the newer maya is a black and white one and the eyeball in my viewport doesn't have black and white on it to show the ramp like the tutorial either.

Basically I can't tell what this ramp is doing or even if i'm plugging it into the right thing or if arnold uses ramps.

Basically how can I use an AIstandard shader to make an eyeball where the front where the iris is will be transparent but the rest of the eyeball is opaque?

Thanks in advance for any help you might be able to give :)

Replies

• DireWolf
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Flexibility is the key... create an ordinary lambert or surface shader, connect the ramp to it's color normally for preview. You can even duplicate the eye so you won't have to reapply your AI shader back and forth.
  • peteed1985
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    DireWolf wrote: »
    Flexibility is the key... create an ordinary lambert or surface shader, connect the ramp to it's color normally for preview. You can even duplicate the eye so you won't have to reapply your AI shader back and forth.

Thanks for that, i'm thinking the tutorial is useless for me since my eyeball is a polygon but theirs is a nurbs. The U ramp isn't working on the lambert since nurbs and polys seem to do UV's differently. This leaves me with no clue at all how to do it because I do need something like a ramp effect had on the nurbs but on my polygon.
  • DireWolf
    Options
    Offline / Send Message