Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Need Advice

Hi, I'm currently studying game design and need to improve my modelling skills.
I would love any tips or helpful tutorials relevant to making humanoid models in Maya. Here is the current level of my work, so you can gauge where I am at.
Botomon Picture.jpg

koromon picture.jpg

Tokomon Pic 2.jpg

Tokomon Pic.jpg

The reason I am seeking advice is because every time I start making something humanoid it looks like I'm doing it wrong and I get very frustrated.

I can make objects just fine but I want to expand my skills.

Replies

• PyrZern
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PyrZern polycounter lvl 12
    Just gotta go up the ladder, one step at a time.

Can you make humanoid shape like this ?
    JeongSeongHwa_swordmaster_joints.gif

Also, this is a GREAT TUTORIAL. FROM STARTING TO FINISH.
    Joan of Arc modeling tutorial. Go over this.
    http://www.3dtotal.com/ffa/tutorials/max/joanofarc/joanmenu.asp
    joan_800_i2.jpeg
  • Doublehelix35
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    No, unfortunately I haven't made anything like that :(

I can work fine with objects, I think that humans just overwhelm me because I don't know where to begin.

I've had a little flick through the tutorial and it looks pretty good!

• Steve Schulze
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Steve Schulze polycounter lvl 18
    Wow, that's a blast from the past. That Joan of Arc tutorial must be at least 10 years old at this point.
  • drysider
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    drysider polycounter lvl 9
    Do you have any skills in 2d art and figure drawing?

Unfortunately, and it might not be the best critique to hear, but it seems like the best way for you to understand how to model organic shapes is to take a step back and practice some 2d drawing. I feel that for people trying to get into 3d character modeling, having a solid background in 2d art REALLY helps.