Home Quixel Megascans

SOLVED: Blender and Quixel suite problem

Bonny
polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
Bonny polycounter lvl 3
Hello, I recently started 3D-modeling again (familiar with the concepts but other than that I'm pretty much a total beginner) and started using Blender for the modeling part. I bought the Quixel suite a while ago in the hopes it would speed up some texturing work but now that I'm trying to figure out how to use it I'm running into some issues.

To simplify the issues I tried using the simplest of cubes and a high poly version of said cube.
mvWu4Hj.jpg?1
As you can see Quixel does not seem to "know" that all edges are supposed to be sharp even though I used "mark sharp" and at export applied the "edge split" modifier with only "sharp edges" ticked in blender. (the applied smart material in DDO was someting alike "rusted galvanized metal")

Dropbox shortened link to blender file (if it can be of use): http://tinyurl.com/nt6ujns
(I am aware that the UV islands are not optimized)

Could someone explain what I am doing wrong that makes DDO behave this way or write/refer to the proper workflow of working with blender for texturing in DDO?
Any help would be much appreciated!

Regards,
Bonny

Replies

• Beco
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Beco vertex
    Hi, it’s all because of your normal map. To bake high poly to low poly, both objects have to be in the same spot, not side by side. Then you first select your high poly and shift + select your low poly and make sure “Selected to Active” is checked in baking window. It’s also a good idea to triangulate your low poly before baking.

Another option is to just use xNormal, witch, in my opinion, is much more easier to work with.

Hope that helps a bit.
  • Bonny
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Bonny polycounter lvl 3
    Beco wrote: »