Home General Discussion

Has anyone here who graduated/studying from AIE ?? Advice.. pls?

I graduated last year May 2014 and I'm planning to further my study my 3d career [specifically in game arts since I'm into gaming] in Melbourne,Australia.

Has anyone went to Academy of Interactive Entertainment here?

Or do you guys have any recommendation for some art school in Melb??

pls do let me know some of your experience and if it is worth studying in AIE :) Thanks!:)

Replies

• Steve Schulze
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Steve Schulze polycounter lvl 18
    AIE has generally been fairly well respected in the past. I studied at their Canberra campus when I was getting started, but that was over 10 years ago, so my perspective may not be super relevant. There are a bunch of other decent options from other technical colleges (QANTM for example) as well as the universities.

I reckon your best bet might be to join up to the Melbourne IGDA (you should do that if you have any interest in games dev anyway) and ask around there - there are plenty of current and former students there that'll be able to give you a clearer idea.
  • Fwap
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Fwap polycounter lvl 13
    Current AiE student here, I'm going to hit you with the straight up truth, sorry if any of my teachers are listening.
    First year was the biggest WOFT, but i attribute this mostly to our teacher leaving and being replaced by a film teacher, sure he had a wealth of knowledge and industry experience, but he just lacked the same passion for games as we do, everything went kind of film bias at the point.

Alas, second year.
    Second year is the tits, the teachers are great artists as well as teachers, no soft cockness around here if your work is bad its bad, no spoon feeding you just get good.
    You are defiantly getting what you paid for when it comes to second year.