Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Creating First portfolio (Looking for feedback)

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
noosence polycounter lvl 9
Hello all! I am an aspiring environment artist hoping to land that all desirable studio position, but I have a slight problem, no portfolio. So I felt coming to you, the great Polycount community, to help me would be super beneficial. I will be posting some asset breakdowns and general portfolio goodness with the hopes of being critiqued and guided into landing my first studio job! Thank you again for your time and expertise! It is very much appreciated! =]

So to begin my first post I have an asset breakdown of a rock that I have recently completed. I have two different breakdowns, essentially displaying the same information in two different layouts. So the first question being, which of these layouts work better, and the second question being, what information do I typically want to include in these breakdowns?

SRBTyYD.jpg

XHNdOnQ.jpg

Replies

• billymcguffin
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    billymcguffin polycounter lvl 11
    Personally, I'd say separate out the pieces into individual image files, with beauty shot(s) first, in engine/environment shots next, wireframe (and poly/vert count), then texture breakdowns. I wouldn't worry about the AO, curvature, etc. maps. Just albedo, normal, spec, gloss should be fine.

The key is to lead with the beauty shots that show off the model best, then show the breakdown.
  • Dvids
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Dvids polycounter lvl 4
    I would agree with billymcguffins suggestions.