Home Animation Showcase & Critiques

Advice and help

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
Rmunday polycounter lvl 9
Hey guys,

So I have began a project for my demo reel, in-between doing other bits. Now since animating I have never done a scene with characters interacting. What best way to practise then a small fight? Gives me chance to practice all the key fundamentals. Now I have only recently picked up Maya and the Body mechanics pack. I am by no means good with Maya and I am far more comfortable with Max however I cannot deny that Maya just seems the best for animating so am making myself learn.

Now as mentioned this is my first time animating multiple characters interacting so I am looking for any hints and tips to make the process simpler. Time is not a factor with this project since I am in the process of finding a place to live among pulling mad overtime at work.

Is there a set way to go about starting this? Would it be simpler to animate a character fully, so blocking in a few swings until the very end, then animating the other characters actions and reactions to how the previous character is moving. Or is it simpler to block each character at each stage of an action? So animate a swing, then go to other character and animate the anticipation to said swing or the start of a dodge whatever it may be.

I am needing a bit of help with workflow with two or more characters since I am a bit overwhelmed. I think this is also due to zero professional experience. Not picking up a couple of tricks. I know this forum is full of some superb animation professionals so would love some incite! Any hints on Mayas UI to make the transition a bit simpler would also help!

[IMG][/img]4VO4oO.jpg

Replies

• Widunder
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Yo! Cool to see you're pushing yourself to learn maya and new things :).