Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Seeking Low Poly/Faceted Style Advice

I'm a programmer by trade, but I've been creating low-poly 3D models for a couple of years for a game I've been working on.

I just published a demo of the game to reddit and got some feedback from other gamedevs, and the general consensus (4/4 people who replied) had concerns about the art style, but couldn't put into words what exactly was wrong with it.

So, I'm hoping you folks, with a more artistic bent, could give me some pointers on how to improve the look and feel of my current collection of creatures while keeping the polygon count low (they're for a mobile game and I'm expecting to have quite a lot of them animated on-screen simultaneously).

P.S. Please don't hesitate to be as brutally honest as you can. I'd only shown it to family and friends before yesterday and it seems none of them were willing to be totally upfront about the gameplay and art, so a stranger's honest perspective is very valuable at this stage.

Here's a screenshot as some of them appear in-game:

InfiniSiege1.png

[SKETCHFAB]41789e4b68314a5d93d3f5f3284d70d5[/SKETCHFAB]
[SKETCHFAB]f70c87aa3008467d9993de0d7179b437[/SKETCHFAB]
[SKETCHFAB]6d0cee8f9a0c4e858841df3854e0f0ee[/SKETCHFAB]
[SKETCHFAB]c0d628bfac7a440391b72ff7739129e5[/SKETCHFAB]
[SKETCHFAB]47a5c3333c514cb4bd08d51b4cd68130[/SKETCHFAB]
[SKETCHFAB]f659cc57961d4a688d73c96444fdfe2f[/SKETCHFAB]
[SKETCHFAB]c76d328f4e0a482dba6704fb20ebf781[/SKETCHFAB]
[SKETCHFAB]92929ae92a524ce2a31df6786709bef4[/SKETCHFAB]
[SKETCHFAB]4b016c45359b49b0a9d51492b0c9ea72[/SKETCHFAB]
[SKETCHFAB]2f48a9fddbe74882888300a419f72b2f[/SKETCHFAB]
[SKETCHFAB]133798c779654161a446e395f0f8c015[/SKETCHFAB]

Replies

• Deathstick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Deathstick polycounter lvl 7