Home General Discussion

Where do you get textures?

YellowYeti
vertex
Offline / Send Message
YellowYeti vertex
First, if this is the wrong board sorry it just seemed like it would be the right one. But this is just a simple question or two since i'm still learning and man do i have a lot to learn. I'm wondering where do people usually get textures for 3D models that are free to use? Or for most of the time are they hand made by the artist? I'm asking in part because at the moment im trying to make a few pieces and wondering how to get some textures since i don't know how well of a texture i could make myself. Thanks for any replies!

Replies

• Justin Meisse
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Justin Meisse polycounter lvl 18
    We make them ourselves. It's part of the job so you'll have to learn how to do it.

A resource for phototextures is cgtextures
  • YellowYeti
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    YellowYeti vertex
    We make them ourselves. It's part of the job so you'll have to learn how to do it.

A resource for phototextures is cgtextures

OK that's what i was thinking, and may i ask what is the best program to use? I'm assuming photoshop or is there an alternative since photoshop now has the annoying creative cloud?
  • DireWolf
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Annoying but very affordable which is a plus IMO for both studio and individuals. I'm letting you know a secret - it's only after CC that my studio can finally afford 100% licensed Photoshop for all our concept and texture artists. Same goes for all applications that now offers subscriptions. Saying my studio is located in a 3rd world Asian country is a lame excuse but that's fact...