Home General Discussion

Texturing dilemma...

loggie24
polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
loggie24 polycounter lvl 3
I have been battling myself for the past 6 months when it comes down to texturing.

Highpoly
Photosourcing

Why is this a dilemma you might ask yourself, why not one or the other, why not both? Well, it's simple. I want into the industry within a few years. I feel like creating highpoly sculpts and baking/texturing yourself is more professional and the "industry standard". Yet, i see things like CGT and upcoming Megascans which offer a wast array of high quality tileables, i want to use them as well, but i can't force myself to it.

It's always highpoly highpoly highpoly, even if i find an amazing tileable photosource, highpoly... I want to love photosourcing, but i can't.

I feel like the only way i will get anywhere in this industry is if i can make ANYTHING without the use of photosourcing, and not only because my brain thinks it, it's also because i want it. I know this probably is wrong, but it's such a strong thought...

Probably a bit stupid dilemma, but getting other peoples opinion always helps me out because sometimes i just can't think or decide for myself...

Replies

• Deathstick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Deathstick polycounter lvl 7
    Whatever works the best for whatever you're particularly doing. Of course it's great to be able to do both well.

One thing to possibly keep in mind when working professionally (not portfolioly) is that there are things like production costs and time constraints, so it's best to work smart. (IE, I could manually spend time drawing out every single piece of scratch and dirt by hand in photoshop using only the hard and soft brush tool, but is that the most effective use of my time? Wouldn't it speed up time to use curvature and ambient occlusion maps for masking as a base, and then I'd change the details by hand and have more free time to polish the asset as a whole? Etc.)