Home General Discussion

Im a 3d artist that wants to be a 2d artist and need advice!

Hi,
Im seven teen and all ready interning at tow small studios, as a 3d modeler.
I am pretty good at 3d art and rendering, but my true dream is to be a consept artist.
The only problem I have is that I never drew from age eleven about.
I know I have talent because I have loved to draw and am really good at modeling things.
I all so have many amazing ideas that are just stuck in my head and by the time I model them or sculpt them they start to "disappear" so I really want to learn to draw to create sort of a "reminder book" for my ideas. I lately got really inspired by Level Up! Session 39 with ANTHONY JONES.([ame]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k5srV2s1ukE[/ame])
But I have no idea where to start, I don't have any art course or something in my city and at school im learning programming and the only other class they have are in subjects such as engineering and so on.

I have been looking for a tutorial series that starts from the real basics and goes all the way up to more advance things.

Could anyone give me some advice a link to a good tutorial maybe or anything at all that you may think could help me out?
Thank you!
Immanuel

Replies

• Muzzoid
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Muzzoid polycounter lvl 10
    As far as i can tell, there are two major ways to become a professional artist in 2d.

The first and more common, and also not very efficient way is to copy images and references and try and apply it to your own work, in a very A-B self criticism way. This is ok and it tends to get hard working artists to professional levels eventually.

The benefits of it is that you start making images of cool things quickly, and it will feel like the faster of the two. It's easier to keep up motivation and we have proven results from hundreds of working artists.