Home General Discussion

Web Developer to Game Developer?

polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
EvanTideswell polycounter lvl 3
Good morning all (its morning by me)
I hope this is in the correct place and board.

I have a question if i may, I am currently studying web development and my question is, is this a good stepping stone to get into game development?

The reasons im asking is because i live games and i love game development, but do not have the time or money to go to a school to learn just game development.

I am currently studying web development threw Udemy which i think is also a nice safety net to have if i cannot get into game development.

The subjects im learning are HTML, CSS, MySQL, JavaScript, Java, Phython, and a bit of Objective C. are any of these viable to make games with or with a bit of further learning will it be easier to get into game dev?

i am looking more at making mobile games (android & ios) and indie games.

Any info would be much appreciated

Thanks

Replies

• eld
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    eld polycounter lvl 18
    Safety nets are fantastic, getting a great paying day job and then learning game development on the side, including actually making the games can be a way to get a career started in games.

This way you only have to make the jump when you are able!

Your languages are fine, it's all about the logic and the game design, they can be made in any language after that.

Partake in game jams like ludum dare, make games all the time, brute forcing the learning process is the best way.
  • EvanTideswell
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    EvanTideswell polycounter lvl 3
    Thanks @eld that does point me in the right direction.
  • Lazerus Reborn
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Lazerus Reborn polycounter lvl 8