Home General Discussion

Starting a portfolio / Finding a job

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Necrossx polycounter lvl 4
I'm aspiring to become a 3D artist. I've been doing modeling for around 6 months now and i want to find a job that allows me to learn more and become a better artist.
I'm doing a video game design and programming course atm and can't really model characters yet.

So the question is, how do i start a portfolio? What should i focus on putting there? What was your first job that involved modeling and such? and what should i look for as a first job on it?

Replies

• pmiller001
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pmiller001 greentooth
    I think some of it dependson the job you want.
    DO you want to be a character artist? texture artist? enviroment artist? prop artist? etc.
    At the end of the day you should know how to do all of these things, but depending on what you want to get hired for, you need to choose one.
  • Joebewon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Joebewon polycounter lvl 12
    Pmiller made good points, you should experiment in all areas before you even start to build up a portfolio. Once you've got some experience working on all types of different things, figure out what you really enjoy doing the most.

And once you've got a few pieces(at minimum) then you can start worrying about building a portfolio.
  • Necrossx
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    You guys made some good points.
    I want to become an enviroment artist, forgot to mention that, and that's what im focusing on the most, even if i dont have any specialized education in it for now.

Another one of my questions was, where should i start? Where could i look for smaller jobs,even if they're not paid? Or should i just focus on practising by myself for now?

Sorry if my questions are too vague.
    I'm also gonna try to post some of my modeling for feedback later on this week.
  • Add3r
    Options
    Offline / Send Message