Home General Discussion

Not Your Average Software Debate

bonepuller
polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
bonepuller polycounter lvl 4
Hey guys,

I've been wanting to get my son started learning 3d modeling for a while. He's 12 now, and absolutely loves building stuff in Minecraft or any level editor for any game that has one.

Currently, and for the last 14 or so years, I'm a fulltime animator. Prior to that I was more of a jack-of-all trades (like we all were back then), but primarily did character modeling in Lightwave. So when I do modeling stuff now, whether it's for personal stuff or the odd small task at work, I'll use Modo. Modo owns. But my hunch is that Modo might not be the most friendly entry vehicle (I could be wrong, that would actually be great if I was).

So my question is, do you feel any software is more learning friendly for modeling than the others? Is there any that felt particularly bad or unintuitive? If anyone has any actual experience teaching young kids that would be great to hear as well.

Replies

• huffer
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    huffer interpolator
    3D studio max seems the easiest to learn and most forgiving. It's less complex than Maya (no history, no complex node management) and more intuitive. Especially for modeling the modifier-based workflow is pretty well suited for a beginner and for a clear and logical step by step approach. I actually started and taught myself basic stuff in 3dsmax (version 5) when I was a similar age, following the help and mostly the included tutorials and examples - apart from some slight hiccups I haven't had much trouble or frustrations :poly124:.
  • pior
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pior grand marshal polycounter
    That's a very interesting question ...