Home General Discussion

Advice on my portfolio

Hi everyone. This is my first post on poly count. I know there are many threads talking about this topic however if you could spare the time to help me out i would really appreciate it.

I'm a second year student at university studying computer games technology. I'm aspiring to become a environment artist and would like some advice on how best to gain access to the industry with this role.
My problem is that my portfolio is not all environment work right now and was wondering if instead of purely focusing on environment art (as i don't have much under my belt yet)should i post all of my good quality work so as to not dissuade any potential employers.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Many Thanks.:)

https://www.behance.net/LewisOliver

Replies

• Leinad
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Leinad polycounter lvl 11
    Generally speaking, portfolio feedback is best posted in the "3D art showcase & critiques" forum.

I would advise removing the character and 2D work and concentrating on environments and props. I say this because they are bringing the overall quality down.

In your environments I'd like to see better materials, learning some PBR resolves that issue. All of the surfaces look quite matte right now.

Reference point of comparison is key, if you're comparing your work to students in your class then it may indeed be good quality. However, you're going to need to aim higher. Nothing feels "finished" but that's ok given that you're currently learning and are a student.

My best advice is to consistently post your work on Polycount and implement the feedback that you get. Good job!
  • mr_black907
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks for the reply! Ill make sure to post it in that forum, thanks.
    I was thinking that my 2D art should come down and my character, at least until its finished.