Home Digital Sketchbooks

Sketchbook: TMDgamesart

WIP: Character Production - The Temptress

Hey guys. Completely new to Polycount so here goes, I'm currently a student in my final year studying Games Art. I am currently working on a module called 'Character production for Games' which involves researching into a particular culture and developing a character for a game with a chosen cultural influence.

I have chosen to look into Japanese culture, particularly focusing on Japan's 'Women of the Sea' also know as Ama.

These women would dive deep into the sea to collect pearls.This job was carried out mostly by women due to their extra layer of fat which helps protect them from the extreme cold temperature of the sea. As a result they often wore very little clothing as the clothing would take too long to dry between dives.

I wanted to combine my character with aspect of traditional Ama but also combine mythical aspects of Nymphs and 'mermaids' with the idea of these women being able to remain strong and independent at their job, but with the femininity to lure sailors of the sea to their deaths. As often depicted in tales of mermaid etc.

You can see more of my Ama inspiration on my Pinterest board: http://uk.pinterest.com/tiffanymelissad/ama/

I will 3D model my character in 3Ds Max and model the character in Super Sculpey Clay. My progress will be posted here so all suggestions/opinions and improvements would be really appreciated!
kughp1Hl.jpg?2

Before deciding on how my character would look I created some silhouettes in Alchemy before editing them in Photoshop. These silhouettes gave me a starting point for potential body shapes, clothing and accessories.
nXNXa2bl.jpg?2