Home General Discussion

What would be the exact list of things I need to know to get a job as a 3D modeller?

Paquette_e
triangle
Offline / Send Message
Paquette_e triangle
Hey guys!

I'm a full time self-taught since a little more than a year now and I would like to know what are exactly the things I need to be able to do to get a job as a 3D modeller?

What is the list of thing a 3D modeller needs to be able to do to get his first job? For example: Unwrapping UV or texturing etc... It would be great if we can set a little list of things, kind of a list of ''requirement to get a 3D Job as a modeller''.

Thank you guys, this will help me to better know my objective and optimize my learning path more properly.

Replies

• ZacD
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ZacD ngon master
    Step 1: Have a kick ass portfolio

That requires being able to model, unwrap, texture, and present a model in a real-time engine.
  • Deathstick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Deathstick polycounter lvl 7
    ^^ What this guy said.

Look at portfolios of people who work at a company you'd love to work for someday. Look at portfolios of people at studios you think you might have a chance of getting into.

Create 3-5 finished and polished pieces of work for the area you'd like to apply to, show final low-poly model with textures in a real-time engine like Unreal Engine 4, Unity, Cryengine, or Marmoset Toolbag 2 and a shot or two of your wireframes and textures flattened out in UV space. High-res sculpts optional if you went with a high-to-low workflow, though definately have the finished game-ready model piece as well (not just a bunch of untextured models).