Home General Discussion

Can one person do it all?

Hi,

I'm new. Not just to the forum, but all of this in general. I've been practicing modeling for about a month now and learning various other things because at some point I would like to make my own 3D animated videos but the more I learn, the more daunting this seems. To accomplish this I have be a concept artist, modeller, texture artist, rigger, animator, sculptor, writer, musician, effects artist, etc ... its all very intimidating. And while I do have help in some departments it isnt nearly enough.

So my question is ... should I give up? Is this an impossible task? Is there some way to make this easier? I'd love to be able to hire someone but I'm a student and I've seen environment artist charge as much as $5,000 for a small town. Needless to say I dont have that type of money.

Is anyone else attempting to go at it alone? Do you have any advice for someone like me? I'd very much appreciate it.

Replies

• Cibo
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Cibo polycounter lvl 10
    Its a matter of aspiration.
    A change from realistic to stylistic, from self composed to free music samples etc. ..
    Whats more important? The story itself or the whole concept in your mind.

Look at maybe "Darkest Dungeon" the Artstyle is very nice in my opinion. Its a game but with nearly no real animations. But you can tell a story in this style like a collage.
  • Muzzoid
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Muzzoid polycounter lvl 10
    Sure it's possible, and i actually have enough of a skill set to do at least all of those things to a competent level.

Problem is though that it becomes less of a matter of being able to, and more a matter of not being amazing at all of them, and not having the time to do them all.

Learning a little bit of everything to become a better team lead is a worthy goal, but not really doing it all yourself.