Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Unity 5 dropship diorama FX test - images and video

I spent a few hours over the weekend making a Unity 5 FX test - my original intention was just to make things look nice without worrying about drawcalls etc.

My inspiration was from my background in photography: Compose a scene, and tweak about in Lightroom. Except this time, do everything realtime in Unity.

Everything is assets from the store that are then heavily modified, with my own FX stack (again, tons of asset store FX) - I can't do 3D modelling at all! I'm a programmer who works with 3D artists a lot to make things look good; perhaps slowly moving towards a technical artist role.

I think it's pretty good for a few hours of playing about! Would love to get some thoughts from you all on how I could improve things.

Before: BiOwI6C.png

After: jZKKbyB.png

Video (watch in 1080!): [ame="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LYp5Bjtif2s"]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LYp5Bjtif2s[/ame]

(I'm new here - sorry if I've done this wrong!)

Replies

• BƎAR
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Woooah, this is awesome. I havent seen Unity look that good! :poly121:
  • St4lis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    St4lis polycounter lvl 7
    thats really cool man!
  • urgaffel
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    urgaffel polycounter lvl 17
    Everything except the sparks look fantastic. Having the sparks spawn almost constantly takes away from the impact and they seem to come from nowhere in particular/everywhere which makes it look a bit odd. Maybe focus them to certain places and only spawn them once in a while when something "breaks"? Maybe when the lights go out they could spawn from the lights in the ceiling or a circuit box...
  • St4lis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    St4lis polycounter lvl 7