Home Technical Talk

xNormal Map Problem - Intersecting polygons when trying to bake multiple objects

Hello! I'm an experienced Maya/ZBrush artist, but new to the awesome, can't believe I just discovered it, xNormal + dDo workflow. Probably missing something that's really simple... or what I'm trying to do just isn't possible.

Here's the problem... *shrug* I modeled a shield with many different parts (wooden planks, metal rim, bolts, etc.)

I have my LP Mesh:
lo_res.png

HP Polypainted Mesh:
hi_res.png

UVs of LP Mesh:
image.jpg

After merging the objects in Maya & ZBrush, I export to OBJs and also create a cage from my LP mesh to be slightly larger than my HP mesh. When I bake out any map from xNormal, I get overlapping pieces on any map I try to bake.

It's easier to see the problem on the normal and vertex color maps. The pink bolts on the left have outlines on the blue metal rim. Same goes for the purple arrowheads on the orange wood planks.

Normal, Occ, and Vertex Color maps
polycount_maps.png

I'm sure there's a stupid easy solution to this. I've been trying to wrap my head around this for days playing with settings in xNormal. Do I have to bake these normals separately? For each piece?????

Thanks in advance! :D

Replies

• m4dcow
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    m4dcow interpolator
    Normally I would tell you to explode the mesh ie: offset each of the high poly and low poly counterparts so you can bake a clean normal map, vertex color map etc...

But TBH I think you should reconsider your low poly and make it one piece, since nothing really deviates too much from the shield shape.
  • tapsteady
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    So if I had a more complex model, i'd bake them separately and then combine the normal/vertex maps in photoshop? Guess there's no other choice because of the way it's calculated. I'm assuming AOcc should still be baked together though, right?