Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Sci-Fi Mesh - Looking for criticism and feedback

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
Bmikes1988 polycounter lvl 9
Hi, I'm a self taught Environment artist, or trying to be. I have been learning for close to a year now including UE4, modeling, baking, and anything possible to create a workflow and better my art.

I have only been doing hard surface for about 3 months, close to 4. I have here a mesh I recently made and I am looking for some guidence, feedback, and possibly some help. UV unwrapping is very hard to learn on your own and I know mine are either terrible or not great, so that is a major spot I could use feedback. I am also working on getting my geometry to be what I call correct. it is meant for a game so this mean very clean edges, cuts, verts, quads, ect.

The process:

-Maya - I begin with your basic blockout in maya and then begin to refine the mesh to get the overall look.

-Maya - I do my best to go over and cleanup the geometry and then begin the UV unrwap. From what I understand it is good to try and limit the seams and connect uvs so the textures will fit seamless. I have also learned that this can be bad due to getting shadows in 90 degree angles.

-Substance painter - I then texture my mesh in substance painter using PBR metal roughness.

Please take a look at the pictures and leave some feedback, tips, or anything that may be useful. I also had this idea that if someone would like to take this mesh and UV unwrap it the correct way, or way that is best done and then post images next to mine that this would greatly help me see. I am linking the The OBJ file if u feel super helpful. "This mesh is not to be used for resale and is only for educational use."

Thank you so much for taking the time to read all of this and possibly help me!

OBJ - https://www.dropbox.com/s/h7hflebyep9h3kk/Box_Building01.obj?dl=0

Kw3qcl4.jpg
ER7Fdbs.jpg
bZkrRLZ.png

Replies

• Zacktor
    Options
    Offline / Send Message