Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Beginner 3D Artist journey to Pro Art

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
Stoki polycounter lvl 9
Hi,
My name is Mateusz(or Matthew if you prefer, whatever), I'm from Poland. I'm 15 years old. I'm a beginner artist who wants to make a beautiful art, and I want to improve my skill with help of other artists from polycount. I want to show you some textures I've made recently. I've used ZBrush, xNormal, Photoshop and 3DO to render. uabrPLc.jpg?1

x8tpJDh.jpg?1

Looking for crits and tips! What do you think?

Replies

• Joost
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Joost polycount sponsor
    Pretty good textures. The shape of the rock is a bit weird. Feels like a bunch of amorphous blobs. Though the texture itself is quite nice.

The planks could use a bit more depth and the dirt(?) around the planks is a bit strong.
  • Stoki
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Stoki polycounter lvl 9
    Just a simple example of the plank texture on mesh. I know it's not perfect, bu it's just for showcase. I think, the legs are too thin. :)

myarUzW.jpg?1
  • Luxap
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Luxap polycounter lvl 6
    Hi Stoki, welcome to the forum!

Looking good so far but I advice you to stay away from the almost pure black in the wooden texture, black is a killer in color shemes.
    Of to a great start, let's see some more =D
  • Stoki
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Stoki polycounter lvl 9
    OK, I'm really bad at sculpting characters, so I want to improve it, but I'm stuck, and I don't know what else can I do with this Alien, or how to improve it. There is definitely something wrong with him, any advice?

6gKS3H8.jpg?1

R8yOkVw.jpg?1

6otXeLl.jpg?1
  • Stoki
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Stoki polycounter lvl 9
    I've quickly made textures for him, just to see where I am right now. This model doesn't even have any eyes.

730Ip6r.jpg?1
  • Cheeky_Pickle
    Options