Home› 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[UE4] Drone Alone

Hi, I'm a technical artist working on a portfolio piece, an Unreal Engine 4 project called Drone Alone. It's about a home security drone who has randomized missions which range from eliminating enemy drones to placing flowers in all the vases. Basically a friendly sandbox with a loose rule set to encourage emergent gameplay and player creativity.

The game takes place in a 70's/80's style retro future (formica punk) apartment, which has four versions for different times of day: morning, noon, afternoon and evening. They are switched on the fly based on player progress.

The project is now mature enough to show my intentions so I'd like to know what you guys think. :) This post is to give you an idea about the place:

The apartment is disc-shaped...
DroneAloneShowcase05.png

...with the garden at the center...
DroneAloneShowcase03.png

...and the garage on the far right. That room is a "vertical slice" I'm working on at the moment:
DroneAloneShowcase01.png

This is by far the most asset heavy place in the house so it helps me stress test my workflow.

The rest of the rooms are blocked out just enough to test layout, palettes and environment lighting:
DroneAloneShowcase04.png

Well, that's the overview of the place. Next time I'll post more images about the garage and the props in there.

If you want to know more about the project then please visit my blog:
http://www.zspline.net/blog/category/myprojects/drone-alone/

Replies

• Cody
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Cody polycounter lvl 15
    Cool concept. Can't wait to see where this goes.
  • sushi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    That... is awesome. Nice work.
  • Zoltan Erdokovy
    Thanks guys. :) Here are two more shots of the garage:

DroneAlone21.png

DroneAlone23.png