Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

216 - Pi meets Deus Ex Environment

Hello, this is my first showcase thread, hope you enjoy.
I made this environment for my second year in university, I'm studying Game's Art at Bolton.
This project's brief was to create a two-room environment based around the theme "Inventor's Lab", using Unreal Engine (v4.4.3). I decided to base it around Deus Ex concepts and the film Pi. Took a little over 4 months to create while juggling two other projects. Textured using dDO, if you couldn't tell already!

Still wrapping my head around all the material nodes and all that, so this project was aimed towards understanding them more. As for efficiency of them? It's definitely questionable. Feedback would be great.

Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bDgyhKMu5e8&feature=youtu.be

Programs:
Maya
Photoshop
xNormal
Quixel suite
3D Coat
Unreal Engine 4 (v4.4.3)

Screenshots:

hDg5Qu1.png
ojN0b9K.png
KuNzJNS.png
Q7Pu28I.png
qwIvDn1.png
s8BMVng.png
E8oRfmx.png
s5aolcf.png

Some materials:

4OEhq9b.jpg
hvWwCx9.jpg
optS89Q.jpg

Replies

• AkiRa
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    AkiRa polycounter lvl 6
    Hey, looking really good!
    Can't really understand why no one posted in here yet. D:

A few things I've noticed:

(I hope you don't mind painting over your shots to illustrate better what I mean at some points.)

First of all I really like the overall feel and style of the environment. You matched the Deus Ex style pretty well imho and did a good job in building beyond the borders of the concept art I think to recognize.

I think your materials need some improvement, especially the wood on the floor and the wallpaper. Your wood does not really read like varnished wood (which I think it is supposed to be).
    Varnished wood has very bright, small highlights and reflects it's surroundings quite a lot while yours is very dull overall and the highlights are very diffuse as well as there is no reflection (at least not visible).