Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Critique on my Environment portfolio

kevingamerartist
polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
kevingamerartist polycounter lvl 6
Hi all,
I'm an aspiring Junior Environment Artist. I have a very small amount of my environment done, but I would like to know all of your opinions on it. Feel free to let me know what you think looks good, or what needs improvement.

Any feedback is greatly appreciated. Thank you :)

92EiBLE.jpg

R9pDWuh.jpg

iLdZaZF.jpg

OrT66JN.jpg

pzZvfEi.jpg

SSYgGvM.jpg

Replies

• Heather.Hughes
    Just a couple quick notes I had while looking at your work:

1. Your texture resolution doesn't seem to be consistent throughout your props. It could be your UVs or the quality of the images (assuming you're using images) you've used.

2. Everything seems quite flat right now (though I know you said this is still early). Do you have plans for normal maps/specular maps/etc?

3. Do you have references/concepts from which you're working? Some of the geometry seems odd to me.
  • ScottHoneycutt
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ScottHoneycutt polycounter lvl 14
    Size contrast is something to improve one both with the models and the textures. Try not to have too many things the size same in the scene. Several things have a "blocky" look to them.
  • kevingamerartist
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Heather.Hughes:

1. When you mean texture resolution, do you mean 1024x1024 for the size of the maps of the textures, or do you mean something else?

2. I already have Normal and Specular Maps applied to either most or all of the models in my environment right now. Are you referring to some of the textures that might look a little bit blurry or off in the distance? If so I was wondering how I correct that since it doesn't look right, and if it's correctable in UDK.