Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Mayan Character

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
skillstrengthorluck polycounter lvl 5
Hey Guys, I've been lurking around on these forums for some time now. I find it both inspiring and slightly intimidating if i'm honest, so I've only posted once or twice before.

That said - I am in my final year of Uni studying Games Art and I have been set the task of modelling a character for a module called ‘Character Production for Games’.

I aim to regularly upload my progress, so that I can document the process as I go and also, so that you guys can have some input and hopefully help me create something really good. :)

I shall be starting work on modelling a base mesh in 3DS Max soon however I shall start by sharing my concept work with you all first.

Started by working out what direction I wanted to go in. The Character had to be based on something that definitely existed, ruling out many fantasy / sci-fi ideas.
jZNJUaU.jpg
I decided to do a Mayan Character.

Silhouettes:
HsR4TB6.jpg

Quite liked the idea of having a mask for the character:
T3jraBR.jpg

Mask designs annotated (explaining which one I chose and why):
XWU0FPG.jpg

Refining the silhouettes a bit further to narrow down a favourite (silhouettes chosen were based on a vote taken by the members of our games courses):
F2yLbpw.jpg

I chose the Priest design as I felt it was the most interesting with regards to the background and synopsis I could create for the character.
T9LMIVL.jpg

I feel that it's important to know about a character and their traits and history etc, but I didn't want to spam you all with a wall of text.
So i'll just leave a link here to some extra information and background and then at least there's the option: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1Duutns8Qn8hkyVA7Am3MT1PNdNadRPQZHEExww20jGI/edit?usp=sharing

Final Concept Sketch:
19oaeGx.jpg

Replies

• Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range