Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Modern Kitchen - My first 3D Model

Hello everyone,

I just started to get into 3D modeling. Got myself a DigitalTutors subscription for christmas and now I start learning 3D Studio Max.

My goal is to get things done efficiently and fast and get into character modeling as soon a possible, but I don't want to set too strong goals for the beginning to not loose motivation.

A bit about myself: I am a software developer and business analyst working for an consulting company. Due to my limited time I rarely get new stuff to play with so this is one investment I wanted to do all the time and now I finally arranged my daily schedule to work a bit on 3D modeling.

Enough about myself, now let's talk about my first goal:

I want to model a kitchen and render a realistic image. In order to get more into the modeling stuff I start with an Ofen. I saw the images below and find the shapes very interesting to get a feeling about the right topology for an object.

So my references for the Ofen are:
na5esgt.jpg
pCgj4fK.jpg
HZxTu3e.jpg
0tvhS4f.jpg

I will post my progress later. As I got a cold too I need to go to the doc in 2 hours, so after that I will start modeling :)

Before that I already got my first question to you guys:
You can see the small holes on the side of the Ofen. Should I model this directly into the side panel or should I create a separate piece and connect the edges later ?

Thank you,
Nikki :)

Replies

• sushi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    If you`re modeling for games, you will probably want to bake that entire side panel detail into a normal map using a high to low poly workflow.
  • NickWilliams
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    NickWilliams polycounter lvl 4
    Hi Nikki,
    Welcome to the wonderful world of 3D modeling! :)