Home General Discussion

3D education around Halifax(Canada)

Hello guys,I'm about to move to Halifax in Canada and i wanted to know if there is a good university in Halifax or nearby to study Gamedesig/Computer science I'm willing to drive one or two hours to the university if needed.
It should be on the level of something like the SCAD in Savannah(i've heard that its really good).
So any recommandations would be welcome.
Take care-stay awesome- (also a late Merry X-mas)
Levi.

Replies

• passerby
    Offline / Send Message
    passerby polycounter lvl 12
    I'm also a Halifax resident, on the computer science side of things Dalhousie has a good CS degree, but I don't feel Halifax offers much as far as animation or 3d.

Though really what is important in 3d art is your portfolio not your education, and you can self teach all you need to do.

As far as work goes Halifax does offer good industry work, I have personally done some contract work for some halifax studios and interviewed for a new upstart with a high profile IP just last week.

What makes you want to move to Halifax?
  • fmnoor
    Offline / Send Message
    fmnoor polycounter lvl 17
    The only art school I am aware of is / was NSCAD
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NSCAD_University

I ended up leaving Halifax to study in California though this was 10 years ago.
  • AstroCubit
    I would recommend also that you contact Personnel at some of the companies that employ 3D artists and ask what they look for in a job applicant and which schools if any in your area that they recruit from. It's not the only answer of course, but it's not a bad thing to let them know you are moving in that direction and make a contact or two.

Good luck! And enjoy the ride.
  • sushi