Home General Discussion

Good game art colleges?

I'm currently a freshman majoring in Game art at Ringling college in Sarasota FL. Not really doing well, because in order to get through the freshman year your drawing skills have to be at a very high level, which is very hard to achieve for someone who never drew before and doesn't even like drawing. Also sophomores and juniors spend a lot of time working on general game stuff, such as creating board games in order to create a notion of gameplay and balance or developing entire games in Ue4, which I'm not interested in doing.

Don't get me wrong, I love video games and anything that has to do with their development,but there seems to be too much focus on other aspects of video game development (such as creating characters). I prefer to focus on environment creation and it's something I'm way more passionate about.

I was thinking of switching to a college which focuses more on creating environments for games, if such exists. I don't find creating characters interesting though.

Which ones would you recommend?

Replies

• Eric Chadwick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I would recommend going the self-taught route. There is a ton of great info on the web for free, or very low cost (compared to traditional tuition). Especially if you want to specialize.

This forum is a great place to learn. Work hard on your art. Post your work for critique. Take the advice to heart and improve your work. Rinse and repeat. It's a proven strategy which has led to many people being hired from their exposure here.

We have some good info here about education, see the links
    http://wiki.polycount.com/wiki/Game_Industry#Education

Drawing though, that's something you should persevere with. Don't stop because it's uncomfortable in the beginning. This is an essential skill for any artist. It is also a key skill which studios want in their art employees. Keep at it, it does get better with time and effort.
  • Digitalair