Home General Discussion

Little advice needed - how much to charge for this job?

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
sp33dk1ng polycounter lvl 6
Hey guys, hope I'm posting this in right place,

I need little help figuring out a realistic price for a job I was contacted for. I'm fairly new to freelancing, and I don't want to spook off my client with high and unrealistic price, but I also don't want to charge to low... here are job details:

- I need to model/map/texture 1 low poly character (max 4000 polys),
- then I need to rig it while using as little bones as possible,
- need to animate 35 different animations, which will all be able to blend between themselves,
- it all needs to be exported in fbx and able to work in Unity game engine, I just need to make sure everything works fine once exported.

btw I work in 3ds max and zbrush mainly, if it matters...
I was thinking of charging a fixed price for modeling/texturing/rigging and then to charge animation by the second, or 30 frames of animation. So what do you think, what would be a realistic price for this project?

Thx in advance!

edit: this is the quality that is expected http://imgur.com/s5PFdjQ,TFBKrR3 http://imgur.com/s5PFdjQ,TFBKrR3#1

Replies

• Neox
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Neox godlike master sticky
    how long will you take? what is an hour of your time worth?
  • sp33dk1ng
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Well, I value it at maybe 15-20$? I've been modeling for 5 years, rigging and animating for almost 2... client said it takes around 80 hours max for their inhouse 3d artist to complete one such project, but I think I can finish it in less than that...
  • Popol
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Popol interpolator
    Your hourly rate also depends on where you live, because as a freelancer almost half of what you earn goes to taxes. And taxes change from a country to another.