Home General Discussion

Interested in traditional sculpting,want help!

Hey guys!
My name is Nikos i'm a high school student.
I'm messing around with Zbrush for about a year or so...and i can definitely say i have improved my self by far but,there's still really long way to go,i have read an anatomy book(not completed yet,but i became familiar in this year as you can't imagine compared to the start).

I was wondering what perks i would earn from traditional sculpting as well as how expensive it could get to take all the appropriate tools/materials etc.

Would be a more wise choice to go with Zbrush or stick with traditional?

Thanks in advance!

Replies

• Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    In regards to the second question.

Do both, but understand in regards to game art, more often than not, traditional sculpting just gives you bleed-over skill into your ZBrush skills. Though are you thinking about going to a class or just doing it on your own?
  • nikos667
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I wish someone could teach me,but i don't have a single buck to pay,and my family really doesn't like the whole gaming development idea that much...I'm skilled as a hardsurface modeler,and have read some anatomy(not finished yet)...the sure thing is that i am quite passionate about this and believe in myself,i guess i could be taken as a junior character artist and learn by other more experienced people,although i really doubt it could come along like this...

So yeah,i suppose i will have to do it by the hard way...find my path,if i find it ofc...
  • pior
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pior grand marshal polycounter
    Total cost : $4.08. I am not even kidding :

[ame="http://www.amazon.com/Sanford-SAN70531-Design-Kneaded-Eraser/dp/B00006IFAJ"]Amazon.com : Sanford Design Kneaded Eraser : Artist Supply Erasers : Office Products[/ame]