Home General Discussion

Problems with learning at home

palexpereira
polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
palexpereira polycounter lvl 7
Hi everyone

So here's the thing. I've been learning 3D at home for almost a year. I read through some of the threads on education and a lot of you feel like sometimes it's better to learn with DVD's and books than to spend a lot of money on a course and getting pretty much the same education.

To give you my background for context: I graduated from Multimedia Art (Fine Arts) two years ago and took a VFX course at The Animation Workshop a year ago (to have a strong foundation in CG which I absolutely lacked back in college). I landed a job at a advertising studio as a junior 3D artist.

The experience was nice but didn't help me much in achieving my goal to become an environment artist in games, but I don't really have many options career-wise, here in Portugal.

Now I'm unemployed again doing the odd freelance work, while working on my portfolio. But it's getting more difficult to actually push myself now as an artist. I really need a structure to keep focused. As I said, a lot of you feel that school is mostly wasted money, apart from making connections. I have to say that my time at The Animation Workshop was not a waste at all, in all aspects (but one could argue that was because I was so green, anything would be good).

This is what I got so far (I'm yet to make a showreel):

https://www.behance.net/PedroAPereira
http://imgur.com/a/AsMww

A UE4 environment I've been working on:

http://imgur.com/a/3U7Zr

So my question is: taking into account my current skill level, is it a good idea for me to enroll in a online course or some other program specializing in environments and hard surface (which is really what I like)? Or a more general course related to game art? If so, what could I look into? (Remember that I'm from the EU)