Home General Discussion

Questions about starting out as an Environment Artist

kevingamerartist
polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
kevingamerartist polycounter lvl 6
Hi all,
I'm an aspiring Environment Artist who wants to enter the video game industry. I have some questions about when Environment Artists first start out and after they have been an artist in the industry for a little while.

1. When you first start out in the industry as an Environment Artist, whether it is a regular position, or if you start out as a Junior Environment Artist or Prop Artist, what is the amount of workload per week? What I mean by this question is that is there a deadline at the end of each week, or like every two weeks that the artist needs to meet? Or does it depend on the company that the artist works at?

2. This is referring back to question 1, but when you first start out are you only expected to model a few objects per week, or do you need to model a lot of objects within one or two weeks? I'm not sure if every company follows the same amount of workload, or if it just depends on where you are working.

3. So in the situation that the artist does not complete all the tasks/work that they were assigned, however they were very close to finishing all of it, would they be allowed extra time, or would they get into a lot of trouble? I would never ever do this once I become an Environment Artist in the industry, but I want to avoid that situation.

4. What type of questions should I ask in interviews that would make me stand out more from other candidates?

5. When you are first starting out as an Environment Artist in the industry, will the company put you on a project that has already been mostly completed, or will you be put on a project that is just first starting? Or does it depend on the project that they assign you to?