Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Marrow: My first serious Mudbox sculpt

Ar7ific1al
polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
Ar7ific1al polycounter lvl 3
My first ever (serious) Mudbox sculpt. It has a bit of artifacting at the blade's edge, which is partially the normal map but also something wrong with that part of the mesh as I sculpted. I'm still pretty new to Mudbox in general and am still learning. I've only used it three or four times total, and only tried to do a serious sculpt once before which ended in failure because I rushed it.

Well, without further ado, here's Marrow. It's a two-handed sword with a bone hilt and backbone, and teeth (shark?) on the backbone. I don't expect it to win any awards or anything, but for a first I don't think it's bad.
marrow720p.png

Replies

• Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    What textures did you make for this?
  • Ar7ific1al
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    What textures did you make for this?

I don't understand what you're asking. If you're asking if I made the textures, yes I did - I painted it in Mudbox. :)
  • Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    Most game assets come with a set of textures. At a most basic level they break down as follows:

In the last generation's rendering pipeline:

Diffuse
    Specular
    Gloss
    Normal

In the current, Physically-Based Rendering pipeline:

Albedo
    Specular and Gloss -or Metalness and Gloss
    Normal

There are others, but let's keep it simple for now. For a 3D model to properly be in a game engine, they usually need these maps. Otherwise, they're just pretty things to look at.

So, with that in mind, did you make any of the textures above?
  • BagelHero
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    BagelHero interpolator
    Can we see a wireframe for the Low Poly?